Rabu, 20 November 2013

Tagged Under:

Cell Division Amitosis Mitosis Meiosis

Every cell definitely  has division  process. The purpose of cell division is to produce new cells. Each of the cells carries a complete genetic information  in DNA.

The Types of Cell Division
There are three general  types of cell division, amitosis, mitosis, and meiosis. Amitosis  occurs in prokaryote, while mitosis  and meiosis occur in eukaryote.


Amitosis in bacteria

Amitosis or also known as binary fission is a type of direct cell division without  having been through certain  stage.  In  this process, somatic  cell  is division  into two parts, each of which can grow into new complete  organism. Amitosis in microbe occurs  either horizontally  (e.g. Paramecium) or vertically  (e.g. Euglena).

Mitosis produces 2 daughter cells which  are genetically  identical. It means,  the two daughter  cells have similar genetic composition with their parents.

Meiosis  produces 4 haploid  (n) daughter cells  that come  from diploid parents  (2n).  In the process, each of daughter  cells has half chromosome  of the parental cells.
Mitosis and meiosis  occur in several stages'  The stages will be  further discussed after learning  the following cell cycle.

Source :Biology. Concepts & Connections, 2006

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar