Selasa, 16 Oktober 2012

Tagged Under:

Types OF Skeletal Tissue

Skeletel tissue is divided into types, bone and cartilage.


Bone comprises bone cells (osteocyte) stored in solid matrix. The matix consists of calsium salt and protein, particularly collagen. Less than 64% of bones are composed of calsium, which is identical with hydroxyapatite mineral, Namely 〖Ca〗_3 〖(PO〗_4 )_2 〖CACO〗_3 Some of the organic materials within the tissue are calsium, phosphor, bicarbonate, citrate, magnesium, kalium, natrium, and hidroxyapatite.

Osteocyte is derived from bone-forming cells (osteoblast). It is located in lacuna and between osteocyte and is connected by canaliculi. Osteocyte is composed in a concentric layer which is called lamella.

There are two types of bone tissue based on the presence of cavity inside, namely compact bone and spongy bone.

Compact Bone
The characteristic of compact bone is Haversian system, that is bone unit which cosnsist of 4 to 20 concentric haversian lamella. The system contains blood vessel and function as nutrition supplier of the bone.

Spongy Bone
Spongy bone does not comprise Haversian system. It consist of trabeculae that forms networks. Trabecula is a membrane projecting into logam. 


Cartilage comprises cartilage cells (chondrocyte) located in small cavity (lacuna). The tissue contains flexible matrix which has neither nerves nor blood vessel. Cartilage is necessary to form skeleton of body in early embryo stage, to support soft tissue/organ, and to lubricate bone and joint surface.

Cartilage can be distinguished based on its matrix: hyaline cartilage, fibrocartilage, and eastic cartilage.


0 komentar:

Posting Komentar